World Book Night


20120412-125637.jpg

23rd April 2012 is World Book Night and I’m a giver. The book I’ve chosen to give away is an old favourite – I Capture The Castle by Dodie Smith.

I read this book just after I graduated from university and was feeling a bit lost. Back at home, not really sure how to break into the job market I had the realisation that life is not always simple and easy! I Capture The Castle takes you into the enchanting and eccentric world of Cassandra. She lives in rambling, run down castle with her brother,sister, ultra glamorous step-mother and father, an author suffering from serious writer’s block. Cassandra is a brilliant character and from the opening line you are drawn into her world.

There’s not enough books with funny, quirky, bright and articulate heroines. Cassandra’s a young girl who gets quite a lot of things wrong, but also is wise and astute.

Her coming of age story really struck a chord with me back in 1997 and I’m looking forward to re-reading it now that I’m so grown up, y’know!

I’ll be giving copies away of this book on World Book Night. I might even throw in a slice of
cheese and glass of wine – maybe a candlelit reading too. If you haven’t read this book then add it to your list right now. Tempted? You can read an extract from
I Capture The Castle on the World Book Night website.

Dodie Smith is best known as the writer of the classic, The Hundred and One Dalmations.

About Tara

Writer, explorer, mother, sometimes desperate housewife
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

